You are here

Student Government Association

The Student Government Association (SGA) at the Tulane School of Social Work (TSSW) is the official voice of all graduate and professional students at TSSW. The fundamental values of the social work profession, expressing the worth, dignity, and uniqueness indigenous to all persons as well as their rights and opportunities, shall be reflected in the expression of the actions of the organization

The SGA is committed to support student development in all systems; promote understanding among students, faculty, administration and alumni; maintain professional standards and ethics; accurately represent the concerns and needs of TSSW degree-seeking students to the school's administration; and ensure to the best of its ability the inclusion of all of the student body including full time students, part time students, masters or doctoral level students, advanced standing students, social work students, Disaster Resilience Leadership Academy students, and transfer students for any and all degree-seeking programs. These objectives shall be accomplished by serving as an educational, cultural, and social force within the School and the community.

The TSSW SGA is affiliated with the Associated Student Body (ASB) of Tulane University. All students enrolled at TSSW are eligible for membership in the Student Government Association. All students enrolled in a degree-seeking course of study at TSSW are considered members of the SGA and encouraged to participate in meetings and/or events. There are no fees required as part of the membership of the TSSW SGA.

SGA Members for 2016-17

President Chapman Clark Jr., MSW Student
Vice President, Social Work Chali Temple, MSW Student
Vice President, Finance Kelley Sharkey, MSW Student
Secretary Madeleine Replogle, MSW Student
Education Policy Committee Representatives for Social Work Melanie Moulder, MSW Student
Daniel Smith-Kirkham, MSW Student
Graduate and Professional Student Association Representative for Social Work Rachel Brown, MSW Student
Diversity Representative Karen Montano, MSW Student
Communications Representative Christina Nesheiwat, MSW Student
Safety Representative Melanie (KM) Correa, MSW Student
Wellness Representative Rebecca Lesesne, MSW Student
Part-time Representative Kristi Ka'apu, MSW Student
Dean, School of Social Work Dr. Patrick Bordnick

For information regarding: Constitution and Specific information about the management and operations of the SGA can be reviewed in the Constitution, Bylaws, and any other related materials posted on the TSSW SGA's OrgSync Portal.


OrgSync Button

The SGA encourages and welcomes feedback from the TSSW community at all times in order to maximize and make everyone's time at TSSW as meaningful as possible.

For more information please e-mail: